Energy Planning

To lead Oberlin's rapid transition to a climate positive energy system, we will:

  • Guide the development and implementation of a comprehensive energy plan that is affordable, efficient, sustainable, and coordinated between the City of Oberlin and Oberlin College.
  • Facilitate the integration of policies, decision-making mechanisms, and energy infrastructure so as to maximize the environmental and economic benefits of the energy plan for all members of the community.
  • Gather information on existing and planned energy policy and use and share the findings with all stakeholders in the community.
  • Set collaborative short- and long-term objectives for emissions reductions and advocate for policies to achieve these targets.
  • Connect with and enhance existing projects on the Oberlin College campus and in the Oberlin community. Identify and address gaps, synergies, and potential conflicts.
  • Collect, research, and review best practices and energy-related proposals on behalf of stakeholders in the Oberlin community. Commit resources to and champion new energy-related projects that meet approval of stakeholders on the Committee.

Guiding Principles

  • Build off of current commitments made by the City and College
  • Work through established decision-making processes with transparency

Areas of Focus

The Energy Planning Committee of the Oberlin Project will focus on the following three areas of energy use and facilitate the development of a work plan including overall objectives, interim and long-term implementation strategies, and policy recommendations.

  1. Energy efficiency/conservation
  2. Energy supply and Oberlin College Central Heating Plant
  3. Carbon offsets/sinks

Energy Planning Leadership

  • Steve Dupee, Co-Chair; Electric Director, Oberlin Municipal Light and Power System (OMLPS)
  • Cindy Frantz, Co-Chair; Chair, Board of Directors, Providing Oberlin With Efficiency Responsibly (POWER); Associate Professor of Psychology, Oberlin College
  • Kristin Braziunas, Staff Liaison; Assistant Director, The Oberlin Project
  • Jeff Baumann, Public Works Director, City of Oberlin
  • Sandra Hodge, Special Assistant for Community and Government Relations, Oberlin College
  • Robert Lamppa, Director of Sustainability and Energy Management, Oberlin College
  • Carl McDaniel, Member, Public Utilities Commission, City of Oberlin
  • Doug McMillan, Energy Services and Sustainability Initiatives Manager, OMLPS
  • Jessica Minor, NETL Special Project Manager, Oberlin College
  • Eric Norenberg, City Manager, City of Oberlin
  • David Orr, Paul Sears Distinguished Professor of Environmental Studies and Politics, Special Assistant to the President, Oberlin College
  • John Petersen, Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Biology; Director, Environmental Studies Program, Oberlin College
  • Aaron Mucciolo, City Councilmember, City of Oberlin
  • Bryan Stubbs, Managing Director, Oberlin Project
  • Ron Watts, Vice President for Finance, Oberlin College
  • Amanda Woodrum, Researcher, Policy Matters Ohio


Climate Positive Participant-Logo